Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One) - R.S. Guthrie

Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One)

By Author R.S. Guthrie

  • Release Date: 2012-09-29
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One)
Book Rating: 4.5/5
4.5
Based on 379 Reviews

Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery (Volume One) - R.S. Guthrie Book Description

Crime's an ugly constant in the big city. L.A. Chicago. New York. But when a savage murder brutalizes a small town and neighbor turns on neighbor, a tough-as-nails cop is essential to restoring order. Blood Land is a gritty, emotional saga set in the Wyoming badlands with both greed and vengeance at its core.

When billions of dollars in natural gas rights hang in the balance and the town's top law officer's wife is slain by her own blood, a reluctant hero is forced to battle his own demons and ultimately choose between justice, revenge, and duty.

In the tradition of Dennis Lehane, Tony Hillerman and James Lee Burke, Guthrie's sparse, haunting storytelling compliments his talent for creating richly-drawn, unflinching law officers with human frailties and a sense of justice.

Book Reviews

  • Won't let you put it down

    5
    By TexasMan39
    I wasn't sure I would like this book when I started it but it wouldn't let me put it down! Many a night I knew I needed to go to bed and would finally go to bed around 1:30 AM after my bloodshot eyes said they had to be closed. But I would pick it up when I woke up and would sometimes not eat breakfast until noon! If you don't like books that have a story that will grip you and not let you go, then by all means do not start this one. The author really knocked this one out of the park!
  • Fine free read! Nice twists!

    5
    By Jamilky
    Aloha and thank you for the hard to put down free read! Well written with great imagery! Seems that the author is very familiar with the protagonist and his life challenges.... Thanks again!
  • Very good book!

    5
    By Cbishop101
    The mystery kept me up WAY to late at night reading and it left a good feeling within me when I finished. We have an American Eskimo and a huge black cat that definitely rule our roost here in Austin. Clint, Texas
  • Good read

    4
    By Come on man,
    Enjoyed!
  • Blood Land

    4
    By MC0617
    Excellent. Made the time fly
  • Bloodland is a must read novel!

    5
    By slarkin
    I am grateful for the opportunity to have read R.S. Guthie's Bloodland! His style, words and story line are unique from any mystery/thriller novelist that I have read to date. Guthie's unique style had me befuddled in the beginning to the point that I thought of not continuing. Glad I continued! The more I read, the more I was pleasantly surprised that I was unable to put this book down. Character and plot development were intricate and realistic as was the Wyoming dialect. Bottom line: Bloodland is a must read novel!
  • Great Novel

    5
    By Beavercreek Jack
    Well written and gives many insights into personal demons that many of us have. Want to read more by this author.
  • Highly recommended

    4
    By Bclaus
    The only reason I gave this book a 4/5 is that I reserve 5s for classic works of literature or books I know for sure I will read again: Treasure Island gets a 5 for example. That means for me, a four is a really great read: no downside. I loved this book, the characters, the twisty plot, the great dialogue and the land. I will definitely continue to read books by this author. Great story telling is alive and well!
  • Blood Land

    5
    By Jan ZZZ
    Great Book will read all he has written!
  • Blood Land: A James Pruett Mystery

    5
    By Sparky Lyle
    First time reading Mr. Guthrie - well written mystery with unexpected ending - found myself reading "just one more chapter" over and over again! Loved it - look forward to the rest of the series...